Driver Education Requirements
What is the driver education process?
- Register online for the course that best fits your schedule.
- Pay the deposit or the full amount due.
- Begin and complete classroom education (in a classroom or online).
- Take the permit test at our office or the DMV. You must be at least 15 years old to test at the DMV.
- Once you are 15, take the signed MV form to the DMV to get your permit.
- Begin your behind-the-wheel lessons after 6-10 hours of driving practice.
- Finish your 6 hours of drive time and 6 hours of observation time. If you selected the Premium Behind-the-Wheel package, you will need to finish 9 hours of drive time but will not have to complete any observation hours.
- Schedule your road test at the DMV. You must be at least 16 years old and have held your permit for six months.
When can I start driver education?
You can start driver education at the age of 14. However, Wisconsin state law requires students to obtain a valid instruction permit within 13 months of completing the 30-hour state-approved classroom session. If an instruction permit is not received within 13 months, the state will require additional classroom time.
How long is a classroom session?
Our in-person classes are held five days a week for three weeks. Each class is limited to no more than two hours per day per state law.
What happens if I am absent?
State law requires all students to complete 30 hours of classroom time. If a student misses a day, they will receive an assignment to complete at home for the day they missed. If you miss more than two classes, you must attend a future class session and attend the day/s you missed.
Getting a Driver's License
When am I eligible for my license?
You can take a road test with the DMV when you have reached the following requirements:
- Completed 30 required classroom hours
- Completed all required hours of behind-the-wheel instruction
- Are at least 16 years old and have held a valid WI instruction permit for a minimum of 6 months
- The student balance has been paid in full
How do I schedule my road test?
Go to any Wisconsin DMV office, call 1-888-368-9556, or visit the state website to schedule your road test online. You can schedule your test approximately 11 weeks before your desired test date. The DMV will add additional road test appointments each week, so if you cannot find a time that fits your schedule on the first attempt, more test times will be posted as the DMV can post availability.
What are your office hours?
Our office at 1903 Keith Street, Suite #7, in Eau Claire, is open from 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM Monday-Thursday and 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM Friday. We realize these hours may not work for everyone's busy schedule, so we do our best to check emails and return phone calls outside of these hours whenever possible.
What methods of payment do you accept?
We accept cash, checks, and credit cards.
Do you offer a payment plan?
Your balance can be paid in full at any time. If you choose to make payments, our payment policy is as follows:
- $50 deposit due at registration
- $120 due upon completion of classroom portion
- Remaining balance due prior to scheduling the first behind-the-wheel lesson
What kind of device can I use for online class?
You can use a computer, tablet, or phone.
How fast can I complete the online class?
State law allows students to complete up to two hours of the online class each day. There is no minimum amount each day, but you must complete the class within 90 days. If an extension beyond 90 days is required, there will be an additional charge.
What do I do after completing the online class?
The next step is to take the state knowledge and signs tests. You may call or email us to schedule a time to take the permit test at our office. If you are already 15, you can also choose to take the test at the DMV. If going to the DMV, you must first pick up an MV form from our office. If you decide to test at our office, you will still need to go to the DMV afterward, but the testing part will be completed.
What is the MV3001 form and where do I get it?
The MV3001 form verifies the student has fulfilled the classroom requirement or is in the process of completing the classroom portion of driver education and is 15 years of age or older.
An Accountable Driver Education employee must sign the MV3001 form before going to the local DMV. Students can NOT get the signed MV3001 form before the start of their classroom session.
An instructor or staff member can NOT sign the MV3001 form until the day the student turns 15. If the birthday lands on a weekend, the form can be signed and issued on the next business day. This rule is mandated by the state and not a school policy.
Can I request a specific driving instructor?
Our scheduling software lets you see all available driving lessons and who is teaching them. If your preferred instructor is open, you can select them for a lesson.
Will I have the same instructor for every lesson?
Our scheduling software lets you see all available driving lessons and who is teaching them. You may choose the same instructor for each lesson if they are open or try a different instructor.
When can I begin my behind-the-wheel lessons?
You may schedule their first behind-the-wheel lesson once you have your permit.
What do I need to bring for my driving lessons?
Please remember to bring your permit. We cannot let you drive without it! Not having your permit during a lesson will result in a $50 late-cancellation fee since we must cancel your lesson. We also ask that you wear comfortable, weather-appropriate clothing along with closed-toe shoes.
When should I schedule my lessons?
State law requires you to complete your first lesson within 60 days of receiving your MV form. To get the most out of your lessons, it is best to space them out evenly. For most students this will wind up being about one lesson every 6-10 weeks.
When should I schedule my last lesson?
It is a good idea to schedule your last lesson one to two weeks before your road test. Scheduling it at least one week in advance allows us time to ensure the proper paperwork is filed so you will not have any issues on test day. You should contact us to schedule your last lesson as soon as you schedule your road test.
What if I need to cancel or reschedule my driving lesson?
Should you need to reschedule a lesson, you may do so by logging into your account on our website. You must cancel or reschedule at least 48 hours in advance to avoid a $50 late cancellation fee.
What is a no-show fee?
If you do not show up for a scheduled lesson, you will be charged a no-show fee of $50. This is not meant as a punishment. The instructor planned on having a 2-hour lesson and will now have to wait an hour before their next lesson. We pay the instructors for their time from the no-show fee. In addition, the student who had scheduled an observation hour will now no longer have anyone to observe and will need to readjust their schedule.
Can I still do my drive time if I do not have my permit with me?
No. Allowing a student to drive without their permit is a violation of state law. This situation will be treated the same as a student who forgot they had a lesson, and a no-show fee will be charged.
Will there be other students in the car during my lesson?
Yes. If you choose a package including six hours of behind-the-wheel and six hours of observation, both students will drive for one hour of the two-hour lesson. If you choose a premium package with nine hours of behind-the-wheel lessons, you will drive for one hour and then be dropped off back at the pick-up location. There may be another student in the car observing you while you are driving.
What information do I need when I go to the DMV for my road test?
Students must bring their instruction permit, Social Security number, and driving log to the DMV. Course completion information will be filed electronically with the DOT once all course requirements have been completed and any fees due have been paid.